Rawiya Erotica

RJ Scott’s Blog Event!

Posted on: August 11, 2012

   Welcome to the Bloghop today hosted by RJ Scott! I’m so happy to be giving advice to new writers. Of course, I’m also a newbie too so I’m only imparting knowledge that others have passed down to me.

In my opinion, the best piece of advice I’ve heard is to always listen to editors and or betas. Sure, some of what they say are opinions and you might think just because you’ve studied the grammar bibles, taken all the classes, etc, you know everything about writing.

NOT

You can still be wrong about flow, the content, how you’ve presented your characters etc.

Never believe you know it all and if unsure, ask for several people to read it. You’ll feel much better before you submit. I love my writing and how it’s grown over the short time. I’ve taken the classes, still not great at grammar but hey we all have our faults. And even though i’ve been doing this for almost 2 years now, I still have plenty to learn. The key is to listen to those who know more than you and never get a big head about it.

Believe me, your readers will thank you for it!

 

Comment and win a copy of Smooth Like Latte and a 5 GC from Amazon. Here is the blurb:

NNP All Romance  Amazon and Smashwords

 

Brendan Walsh is an uptight business executive working for his father and missing out on real life due to his relentless drive for success. Fearing his homophobic father’s wrath – and the potential to destroy his financial future – Brendan hides is true orientation and lives a life of boring celibacy.

Upon meeting Davori Jenkins when the hunky barista serves him a latte just the way he likes it, Brendan takes a chance, leaving his number with the tip in the hopes of changing his future love life.

Will Brendan be able to come clean with his father – risking his fortune – or will he take a chance at losing a man who he wants as his future?

Warning: This is an m/m interracial romance. Real romance. Some sappiness is ahead with two very good looking men who are searching for that happy ever after ending.

 

Thanks to RJ for allowing me to participate! Here are the other authors offering their advice!

 


22 Responses to "RJ Scott’s Blog Event!"

Letting crit partners, beta readers etc read and comment on your book without you tearing their heads off – essential!!

Agreed. I appreciate my betas. I really do. As a writer you always learn!

[…] is part of a bloghop today to give away a copy of Latte and a […]

Great post Rawiya!

I always defer to betas/editors when they tell me why they have made a certain suggestion. They can’t just tell me to change a character’s hair color just because they don’t like blondes, you know? Such a good post. And that blurb for Smooth Like Latte made my mouth water. LOL.

great post today and your book sounds intresting

parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

Great post!! Sounds really good!
evelynmoly@yahoo.com

Thanks so much for stopping in

Wonderful post and thanks for the chance to win a copy of Smooth…I love the cover.
Yvette
yratpatrol@aol.com

Thanks so much and good luck!

Loving this hop, almost makes me want to write. Naaah, I am happy just reading.

LOL Nancy. 😀 I read too but love writing!

Thanks for the post! Blurb sounds great!!

forettarose@yahoo.com

I like that…always ask questions never assume you know it all…great advice.

morris.crissy@gmail.com

Thank you. Yes I’ll never know it all. The key is to grow and learn

Leave a Reply

WIPs

Blog Topics

Rawiya’s Accomplishements

ARe Silver Star Mocha Kisses and Coffee
ARe Silver Star I Like Em Pretty MF
ARe Silver Star One Shot
ARe Silver Star Only that Night ANTHO
ARe Silver Star I Love You Rhett Vorhees

Literary Triad

