Rawiya Erotica

Welcome Allie Sandifer

Posted on: February 27, 2012

Please welcome Allie Sandifer to Rawiya’s today. 

Hi and welcome to my blog, Allie. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

How does the song go ‘I’m a little bit of everything all rolled into one J There’s nothing that doesn’t interest me, except golf. I’m a bit of a vagabond. Travelling, staying with friends all over. Thank God I have good friends who put up with me.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

Life experiences are mandatory in writing at least that’s my personal opinion. Granted I haven’t been on the run from mutant sea creatures, but life is nothing, but fodder for my books.

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book?

Honestly it depends on the book. A short 15K I can write in a weekend. Mid-length takes a week or so. Full length at least a month. Granted this is if I gorilla glue my butt in my chair and write 3-5K a day.

What is your writing routine once you start a book?

There’s no routine with me. It’s simply a matter of making myself sit then fingers to the keyboard. I am old school when it comes to keeping book details straight. Most of my writers friends use excel to input character details, research notes and other odds and ends. I have a pretty shiny spiral book for each story. Handwriting the various particulars on paper make it easier for me to flip through character facts.

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. Lickity Split is my latest release at Decadence. What inspired it? The Sassy Seven, my beautiful writing friends, threw out the idea of writing a short story for Valentine’s Day. Since we’re all equally addicted to chocolate wine we had to do a story revolving around our favorite nectar of the gods J My story idea came from the idea of role reversal. In Lickity Split Juliet is finally out of the military and her first stop once she’s back in the States is to look up the man she’s always loved. The relationship ended because she didn’t want Trent worrying while she was deployed. The story starts with Juliet standing on Trent’s doorstep, clutching a bottle of Choco-Vine wine and box of chocolate.

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write? (if you don’t have love scenes in your books, disregard this question)

Maybe I’m weird but I can’t write love scenes in public or with other people around. Hot, sexy and heated bedroom scenes are private. Which is weird considering my books are up for public consumption.

What kind of research do you do for your books?

The kind and level of research I do depends on the book. There’s no way to know ahead of time what and where my research will lead me.

What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do?
 Travel, spending time with friends, reading, spoiling my awesome nieces and nephews and just soaking up and enjoying life.

Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read?

Of course I must include the books by my friends. Trust me I wouldn’t read them if they stunk. I’d think it would be impossible to be friends with someone if you couldn’t stand their writing. Recently I’ve stumbled on books by Kinsey W Holley, Lauren Dane, and pretty much all paranormal romances. I’m addicted to the whole what if’s.

Among your own books, have you a favorite? I’ve loved all my books, but usually my fav is the one I’m currently working on. Right now it would be Roarke, my Irish leprechaun with an attitude and the looks go with it.

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting?
For me it’s different with each book. Sometimes the characters come first. Other times it’s a single line I can’t get out of my mind or a place that sparks a character or plot idea.

What part of a book has been the easiest to write?  The first line is always the easiest. It’s the end of the book I always curse and struggle with.

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

Dialog between the characters makes the book for me. If they can’t communicate they how can they fall in?

What is the hardest part of writing/the easiest for you? The easiest is coming up with the ideas, plots & characters. The hardest is actually sitting down to write it.

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you? It’s a tug of war between the two. I think it makes the book better, crisper.

What are some of your current projects?

Oh wow, I have tons of projects in various stages. Some are just lines in a notebook, others have a few chapters and still other are fleshed out with proper grammar and everything. The book demanding the most attention right now is a contemporary called Wishes, Kisses & Corpses. I’m having a blast with the characters and the heroine’s friends. There’s nothing better than a strong woman with crazy friends.

Boxers, briefs, boxerbriefs…. Boxers or boxerbriefs

Or commando on a man? Why? In my opinion there is nothing sexy about briefs. It’s a total turn off for me & you’ll never read about one of my characters wearing them. YUCK!

What is your strangest habit? I have so many & you want me to pick one? Hmm, I’m addicted to lotion & lip-gloss. Those are the only ones I’m allowed to share with the PG public J

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought? Holy crap, when did I turn into a zombie. I’ve got the frog flu so I’m not looking very glamorous or royal right now.

What is your favorite pizza? Papa John’s Spinach Alfredo. Yummy!!

What is one thing scientists should invent?

Self driving cars so I can sleep on the long drives. Also a shower/drying tub using a particle cleaner instead of water. I hate messing with my hair everyday, but I know I’m lucky to have hair. I’ll shut up now.

If you could time travel, where would you go?

There’s no way I could pick just one time. There are so many things I’d want to change about history I’d be afraid of the consequences.

What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

I get to work in my jammies. Is there a better career out there?(Romance or other genres)

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why?

Club Botticelli for those who enjoy strong confident women, slightly insane friends and frequent smoking hot sex. The Poseidon series for those readers looking for sarcasm, humor, strong heroines, take charge heroes, nosy friends and family and endless possibilities.

What do you hope readers take with them after reading one of your stories?

If someone reads one of my books and closes it with a smile then I’m happy. I want my books to leave you feeling better or at least give you a chuckle or two.

Anything else you want to mention?

I don’t write humor. I write reality as it see it. If it’s a bit twisted, warped and on the insane side…welcome to my world, sit down, strap in and enjoy the ride.

 

3 Responses to "Welcome Allie Sandifer"

Allie, you are one of the best crazy people I know and your books rock. Keep writing.

Message from Princess Allie: The royal palace had some problems this morning but as soon as she gets them fixed she will be here to answer you questions and give you her royal blessings..

Great interview, Allie!! I’ve loved your books forever. Can’t wait for the next release.

Leave a Reply

This Blog is 21 and Over

Signup for Triad Newsletter and receive Rhett Vorhees for FREE!

Click the link to Download the book

WIPs

Royalty MM

Gay Male Muse

Michael Mandrake

Wicked Snarky Sis

BLMorticia

Down With the Swirl MF

Veronica Bagby

Blog Topics

Nano WINNER

I Like Em Pretty

Rawiya’s Accomplishements

ARe Silver Star Mocha Kisses and Coffee
ARe Silver Star I Like Em Pretty MF
ARe Silver Star One Shot
ARe Silver Star Only that Night ANTHO
ARe Silver Star I Love You Rhett Vorhees

Literary Triad

