Rawiya Erotica

Wind Down Wednesday

Posted on: February 22, 2012

   Good morning. Welcome to Wind Down Wednesday.

This week, I have no specific book to talk about. Next week BL will be here to chat about Candyman the 4th book in the NNP Something New on the Menu series but today, I wanted to chat about the music that’s been fueling my interracial manlove inspiration.

The last 3 or 4 books, the characters have mentioned getting into smooth jazz music or old R&B. Despite the fact, me as the writer, loves metal music and Duran Duran more than anything, I’ve found that my characters, like the old smooth jazzy tunes to get them going. For Rawiya’s first book, Time to Make the Donuts, the characters talk about John Coltrane as a favorite. Smooth Like Latte, both my MC’s mention the song, Brown Sugar by D’Angelo and even a scene of Latte singing it to the crowd.

I believe there’s something about the soothing music whether its the sexy, sultry saxophone or the guitar riffs and bass that inspires my characters to get through the tough times and fall in love.  Jazz and R&B are two kinds of music that crossover races as well. So that might have something to do with it. Music definitely transcends the racial barriers and when writing about men and or women falling in love, it brings them closer together.

Here’s a song I heard a lot on the jazz iTunes station while writing both. It’s always been a favorite!

Leave a Reply

WIPs

Blog Topics

Rawiya’s Accomplishements

ARe Silver Star Mocha Kisses and Coffee
ARe Silver Star I Like Em Pretty MF
ARe Silver Star One Shot
ARe Silver Star Only that Night ANTHO
ARe Silver Star I Love You Rhett Vorhees

Literary Triad

