Rawiya Erotica

Wind Down Wednesday Vertigo Michael Mandrake

Posted on: December 21, 2011

Greetings! Welcome to Wind Down Wednesday!

 This would be the first Wind Down post with a guest. *snicker* My brother muse has just handed in edits on his next novella Vertigo, an m/m historic paranormal. It is the long version of his story, Longing for a Normal State of Vertigo in the Sizzler anthology, Riding the Rocket.

  Here he is giving us some more info on the music behind this book.

Hello all.

  I’m Very excited about the next novella, Vertigo to be released in 2012 from Sizzler Intoxications. As Rawiya said, it’s an m/m historical paranormal novella about a scientist, Dr. Hayden Curry who is recovering from a broken heart and throws himself into his work. After being called to Tralfalgar by the Yard, the police direct his attention to a being, half man, half wolf that looks to be dead however, once he takes it back to his home, this corpse comes alive.

  As the story progresses, Dr. Curry tries to find out what David is and gains more appreciation of life and love in the process.

Interesting right? So what music did I listen to while doing this book? Some old classical since its set in the early 20th century England and an album by the progressive metal band Opeth called Blackwater Park. 

  The characters I wrote for, specifically Dr. Hayden Curry who’s model is John Taylor (above) enjoyed the haunting melodies of every song and when writing the surprising ending, the words just flowed onto the page.

  I love when that happens, when the music moves you to write. 

 Here’s one of my favorites off the album called The Drapery Falls and at the bottom is a sample excerpt.

 

Excerpt PG

Just as I fell asleep, the sound of Berrows calling out to the horses awakened me.

I wiped my mouth with a cloth before stuffing it back in my coat pocket.  Readying myself for what might be a ghastly sight, I took a deep breath as Berrows opened the carriage door.

“Alright, doctor, safe and sound. Should I get the cargo box prepared?”

“Yes Berrows, I feel we might have something odd to take home with us tonight. Hopefully, it won’t be too frightening,” I chuckled and stepped onto the stool to the ground.

Getting out the buggy, I placed my cane onto the seat. Seconds later, I heard steps and then a voice.

“Ah Doctor Curry, I am so glad you could come on such short notice. Never seen anything like it.” Captain Tiddle, the head of the London Police approached me with an outstretched hand. “Inspector Fine is scared to bits. He didn’t even want to touch it.”

Firmly, I shook his gloved palm with my own. “Good evening to you as well, Captain,” I smirked.

Hearing what he had said, I turned my attention to the heavens. Every time the city morgue had something they did not want to bother with, they called me. All because I had made the mistake of announcing to everyone how boredom had set in with regular coroner work. Sometimes I wish I had taken the suggestion of an old friend who said I should go to America to start anew.

Nonetheless, I did not because of my love for Lawrence. I knew he wanted nothing to do with leaving London, so I stayed here for him.

Although I had gained some popularity with some of my latest discoveries, such as my attempt to develop a medicine to stop the aging process, I did not appreciate the second job the department had thrust upon me as inspector of unexplained objects.

 I hobbled away from him and shook my head. “Captain Tiddle, Fine needs to grow thicker skin. What on earth is he an examiner for if he cannot handle…” The putrid stench stopped me from continuing my statement. “What on God’s green earth?” My nose twitched and the hairs tickled my nostrils.

I felt slightly nauseous, the closer I came to the covered body. I grabbed my handkerchief and placed it over my nose and mouth.

The wind blew swifter and it continued to drizzle. That did not deter the crowd held back by constables. They were eager to see what was under the sheet.

“Alright, let’s see what we’ve got here.” Slowly, I uncovered what looked to be a wolf-like man.

With the cloth still on my face, I traced its features with my other hand. The skin felt rough, hard as if it were decaying. As much as I wanted to take off the whole sheet, I decided to leave it on until I returned to my laboratory.

I placed the covering back over it before getting up. The smell was not as strong when I knelt down to it so I put my rag back in my pocket.

“Well Doctor, what do you think? Is it human, is it?”  Captain Tiddle raised an eyebrow.

“Not sure Captain. I will just have to dissect it and see what happens. I have not seen anything like it either, though I have heard of some sightings out in the country.” I paused and tapped my foot against the pavement. “Well, I’ll phone you once I have something to discuss. Berrows!”

Immediately he came with our wooden box ready to take our new project home. Berrows, not intimidated by anything, picked up the body and lowered it into the coffin, shutting it tight.

Tiddle stared, eyes bulged, seemingly amazed at how my driver showed no fear of what lay under the sheet.

“Uh Tiddle, can your men give Berrows a hand to put it on my carriage?” I sipped a little from my flask.

“Oh, of course Doctor, sorry.” Tiddle motioned for four men to help Berrows with the box.

“I shall give you a ring when I find out what this thing is. Good night Captain.” I tipped my hat and walked in the direction of my transportation.

“Night, Doctor.”

I walked out of sight.

Berrows cracked the whip

People separated, giving us room to ride away.

I settled back in my seat, thinking of the thing I had just put on the back of my carriage. What could that be? Seemingly, only things like that were figments of a horror scribe’s imagination.

I took my hat off and tousled my long brown hair. Thankfully, I would get home in time to have Libertina’s dinner waiting on me before it got cold.

“As soon as I have my meal, I’ll have a look at the wolf man.” I closed my eyes.

Since my slumber had been interrupted earlier, I decided to take a small nap. I felt exhausted even from this small trip especially since I stayed up until the wee hours.  

While the buggy continued to move, something caused me to awaken. I opened my eyes searching around, wondering what happened. It felt like a hand touched my back although I remained alone in the carriage.

Once I exhausted all rationale as to what it could have been, I lowered my eyelids again and fell asleep. 

Leave a Reply

WIPs

Blog Topics

Rawiya’s Accomplishements

ARe Silver Star Mocha Kisses and Coffee
ARe Silver Star I Like Em Pretty MF
ARe Silver Star One Shot
ARe Silver Star Only that Night ANTHO
ARe Silver Star I Love You Rhett Vorhees

Literary Triad

